Raising Girls

You know, I am the Mother to 3 girls, and I am coming to the conclusion that God gave me an extra challenge in 3 children of the “fair sex.”  There is so much emotion involved in being female, that my operatic training is coming in quite handy. Bless my poor husband, who at times is concerned he won’t make it completely through their teen years, while remaining sane.

My goal in raising these three amazing beings, is to make sure they make it to adulthood: alive, confident, creative, and educated. The confidence thing is probably my biggest challenge. Girls face so many blows to their self esteem and self worth in their lives. They are faced daily with the fear that they won’t measure up physically to all of the images that they are exposed to.  They face difficulty (despite all of the “equality” talk), in convincing employers, professors, and other men that they are just as capable, intelligent, and strong.

My girl closest to adulthood is Haley. She is so beautiful, and her creativity baffles me. She faces some challenges, because she has ADHD, but sometimes her energy and wild brain energy are actually admirable. I caught this photo of her when she was unawares. I think you can see the brilliance and ideas in her eyes, the beauty in the photo’s bokeh that shows her aura of creativity, and even the wild blowing of her hair shows MY challenge in raising a child that is so full of ideas, energy, stubborness, and beauty.  What a child. What a blessing.

By the way, you can view this photo on the i heart faces photo challenge for this week “Purple”: http://www.iheartfaces.com/


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Raising Girls

  1. Danielle says:

    Fabulous! She looks so intense yet calm. Love the movement!

  2. Jennifer says:

    I love it! The colors, the mood. Perfect. 🙂

  3. Mindy says:

    This shot is great! My youngest is a 2yr. old girl and I am SO scared sometimes when I see her strong-willed, emotional, drama filled personality come out!

  4. lovvveee these colors!

  5. she is beautiful and i love the intensity that is displayed in the photo.

  6. rachelle says:

    ooh, that tinting and the hair blow… so intriguing.

Leave a Reply

