Exploring a Kansas cathedral with a camera

I was at Grace Episcopal Cathedral in Topeka this past weekend for a rehearsal, and I knew it would be a great opportunity to bring my camera and practice some indoor photography in a gorgeous, naturally lit location.


I have been to Grace several times for performances, and it was where I sang my first “big money” gig.   No, it really wasn’t THAT big of money, but it seemed a pretty handsome fee for a college student, and I was just doing something that I really loved. I sang the soprano role in the Healy Willan Requiem. Later, I sang the soprano roles in the Christmas portions of Handel’s Messiah.  It was gorgeous at Christmas time.
This weekend, I met a really nice older man named John (I believe he was the custodian of the church), while wandering around after the rehearsal with the camera to my eye,and he showed me all of the interesting nooks and crannies of the church. He pointed out interesting places, lovely light, and was fascinated by my camera. I appreciated all of his encouragement and positive energy, it was truly refreshing and made me very happy. Every time that I visit Grace, I get a little taste of visiting Europe again, and I remember back to the time I found the most beautiful peace in the duomo in Parma, Italy.


I really could have spent hours trying to capture the details of each window, each wood carving, the marble that reflected the colors, but I decided to instead focus on the wide angled beauty around me…mostly because you it isn’t something I normally do. I can’t say that it was easy for me to look at the big picture, but it is always nice to be pushed out of my comfort zone a little bit. I don’t think it is necessarily my best work, but I certainly hope that I captured some of the character and peace that I was able to experience.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Exploring a Kansas cathedral with a camera

  1. darlene mason-taylor says:

    Awesome Amy!!

    The photograph of the window reflection on the floor is wonderful~good eye!
    Love your creative style!! :)XO

  2. Destiny says:

    That is a gorgeous building!
    perfect lighting! and the outside is just a gorgeous as the inside 🙂

    Thank you for linking up!

    Hope you have an amazing week! 🙂

  3. Kristen says:

    Those are gorgeous photos!

Leave a Reply

