My amazing mother

I am incredibly blessed to have been given a mother that is one of the most beautiful people in the world, inside and out. This week on Facebook, in honor of Mother’s Day, my friends have been changing their profile pictures to one of their mother. I have seen some photos of some very beautiful ladies…….who’s children love them very much. But every single time I have seen a new picture, I think “Oh, she’s truly lovely, but she could never be as beautiful as my mother.”

Really, my mom is like…model gorgeous. I remember being a little girl, and thinking everyone’s mom wore a lime green bikini regularly at the lake….because mine did. I remember thinking her hair resembled that of a princess, and her sense of style was (and is to this day) impeccable. Mom is the kind of woman that can wear white pants anywhere, and not get them dirty (unlike her very sloppy daughter). I remember my friends frequently commenting on how pretty my mom was, and I totally took it for granted. I mean…she is my mom. Oftentimes, I think my mom’s physical beauty sometimes outshines her kind, giving and generous heart, which is more beautiful than I could ever describe in words. I have never heard her make snarky comments about others, she would always go out of her way to help someone, and she has always put her family, friends, and those in need ahead of herself. Mom spent nearly 15 years as a paraprofessional to special needs kids; and loved it. Before that, she worked at a head start preschool, and also loved those children and treated them with such love, respect, and kindness. Mom has always been a model of who we should be.

I believe that I am such an adventurous and trusting person because of my parents, and much of that came from my mom.  She read me hundreds of books about clever, intelligent and adventurous girls, who accomplished great things. Mom always stressed how important brains were in everything; how an education is critical, and life is never dull if you have books, nature, and friendship. I love plants, gardening, and creating a cozy home because I was surrounded by the beauty she created in and around our home.

My mom has never, ever given up on me (even though I have done things that are terribly disappointing, frustrating, and upsetting), or ever settled for less than the best for me. I am the person I am today, because of her. I am terribly independent, creative and strong……..just like her. I still want to make her proud every day. (Oh, and she let me do all kinds of crazy things to my hair, wear strange clothes, and just “find who I was”….without saying a critical word. THAT tells you lots about her patience.)

I was adopted when I was 5 days old, and like my husband said, I was simply meant for my parents, and them for me. I have never ever questioned how much they love me. I know in my heart how much I have been treasured since the moment I was born. I see photos like these that allow me to see how my entire family gathered around me to envelop me with love……..and how my mother felt to hold me in her arms….and I am filled with gratitude, happiness, and joy. I am infinitely grateful that God gave me my mom, it is one of the greatest blessings of my life, and truly no words I can find will convey that.

Happy Mother’s Day, Mom. You are an amazing mother, wife, and grandmother. Thank you for everything you do, and all that you are….for that I am eternally grateful.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

