Coming up roses

In my garden last week, the climbing roses were blooming due to all of the rain we’ve had around here. I took just a few minutes to fiddle around and practice taking some flower shots in the overcast weather. I don’t really see nature portraiture as one of my strengths, but I would like it to be, as I love my garden and the outdoors.

I’ve always seen a rose as miraculous. How each individual bloom shines with its own beauty….and how even the spent petals are beautiful laying on the ground. I love how they are protected by thorns, but the thorns don’t make it something ugly or frightening…it is like that “flaw” is something that makes it more beautiful, and something to be gentle with.

~ “There is nothing more difficult for a truly creative painter than to paint a rose, because before he can do so he has first to forget all the roses that were ever painted.” Henri Matisse

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

